

Panama Canal Society General Membership Minutes St. Petersburg Yacht Club, 1 Central Avenue, St. Petersburg, FL December 16, 2017

Meeting was called to order at by Mike Coffey (President) at 11:55 a.m. Mike welcomed everyone and thanked them for coming to this great location. He thanked Kelly Parthenais and Kathy Malin for all their hard work in putting together this event.

Pledge of Allegiance: Mike Coffey

Invocation: John Husum

Mike then told everyone to enjoy lunch and we will reconvene after lunch.

Mike introduced all the Past Presidents and Board Members present. He also thanked Ted and Mel Henter who are members of the Yacht Club and who graciously reserved this beautiful venue for us. He thanked Jacque Vowell for a great December Canal Record. Mike announced that Margaret McLaughlin made the centerpieces and decorations. He thanked her for sharing her talents with us.

Board Attendees: Mike Coffey, Kelly Parthenais; Brittney Wilder, Patrick Smith, James Beattie, Tom Wilder, Noreen Hanson, Bill McLaughlin, Laura Kosik, and Jim O'Donnell. [not present were: Shirley Avery, Ray Husum, Richard Grimison and Lee Bentley.]

Members attending: There were 144 tickets sold with 116 members and 28 guests attending.

Mike asked if everyone had a chance to review the minutes of the last meeting. Tom Wilder made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Steve Nehring, motion carried.

Some Door Prizes were drawn.

2018 Reunion: Bill announced that the online registration will be up and running soon. The Cultural Seminar this year will be given by Bill Harp, BHS 71 on "The Embera of Eastern Panama". Last year Sentimiento Panama's Rafael Armien gave an excellent presentation on the instruments and various dances in Panama's Folkloric Dance Culture. It was so welled received, we invited Rafael back to speak at the annual luncheon. The Reunion will be held at the Marriott this year from June $27 - \text{July } 1^{\text{st}}$. If you register through the society for your hotel, you can extend your stay at our rate for 4 days before and 4 days after the reunion.

Nominating Committee: Mike invited Betty LeDoux to the podium to announce the upcoming Election of Officers. Betty thanked the other members of the committee – Bill McLaughlin, Kelly Parthenais, Randy Rios and Dennis Gilbert. She then announced the nominations and gave a little bit of background on each nominee. They are: President – Shirly Avery; 1st VP – Richard Grimison; 2nd VP – Brittney Wilder; and four Directors – James Beattie, Patrick Smith, Lee Bentley and Conan Herring. The floor was opened for nominations. None were received. Ballots will be in the March Canal Record and Betty encouraged the members to mail in their votes.

Presentation: Mike called Cheryl Williams to the podium where he thanked her for her 4 years of service and presented her with a clock and a gift card.

Carnavalito: Mike announced that Carnavalito was moved by a week due to hurricane problems at the previously scheduled hotel. He told all about the Radisson Resort at the Port and thanked Betty LeDoux and Richard Grimison for their hard work. He told everyone there were flyers at the entrance table.

UF Museum: Kathy Egolf spoke about the Museum Gallery that was opened last year on April 1^{st} . She indicated the Gallery was growing with more cases thus needing support. Kathy thanked Kathy Malin for her last few years of support with the annual luncheon and welcomed Bill McLaughlin to the Board. She announced the next luncheon is March 3^{rd} at UF.



Panama Canal Society General Membership Minutes St. Petersburg Yacht Club, 1 Central Avenue, St. Petersburg, FL December 16, 2017

Other Announcements: Our Spring Picn	ic will be on May 19 at Shelter 9 in Phillipe Park, Safety Harbor.
Game: Margaret and Bill McLaughlin orga	anized a great 'table' game from which there was one winner from each table.
Mike thanked the members, their guests, vand Happy New Year. The meeting adjoint	vendors, and Board members for joining us today and wished all a Merry Christma urned at 1:23 pm.
Kathy Malin Office Manager	Mike Coffey President